Faculty Senate Elections Spring 2017 COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS (CLA) TERR24R(6S-5(Tw [(T)0 Td TJ ET Q q 315.36 623.8

COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS (CNSM) TERMS & VACANCIES Representation: 7 senators and 4 alternates.

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Representatives Donie Bret-Harte (17) Stefanie Ickert-Bond (18) Roman Makarevich (18) David Maxwell (18) Franz Meyer (17) Rainer Newberry (17) Gordon Williams (17) Alternates Bernie Coakley (17) Larry Duffy (17) Javier Fochesatto (18) Gordon Williams (18) – Vacancy; GW filled seat vacated by Lisa Lunn (assuming Lisa's term).

At the end of this year CNSM will have 3continuing senators and

COLLEGE OF RURAL AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (CRCD) TERMS & VACANCIES Representation: 6 senators and 3 alternates.

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

College of Rural & Community Development

Representatives Bill Barnes (18) – UAF CTC **Cindy Hardy (17) - CRCD Jak Maier (17) - CRCD Jennifer Tilbury (17) - UAF CTC** Kate Quick (18) - CRCD Sandra Wildfeuer (18) - CRCD Alternates Andy Anger (17) – UAF CTC Cindy Hardy (17) – CRCD - Vacancy Galen Johnson (17) – UAF CTC

Senator terms expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2017:

Cindy Hardy (assumed Jennifer Carroll's term when she filled vacated seat in spring 2017) Jak Maier Jennifer Tilbury

Alternate terms expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2016:

Andy Anger Galen Johnson Vacancy

Please elect:

3 senators for 2-year terms (2017-2019

3 alternates for 2-year terms (2017-2019) – or these alternate terms <u>may be staggered</u> such that 1 or 2 seats are for a one-year term of 2017-2018. This way all alternates will not fall off the senate at once.

Please note with regard to the attached table of Permanent Committees: Also note that Faculty on Permanent committees do <u>not</u> need to be Senators.

CRCD membership on the Student Academic Development and Achievement Committee is appointed at the college. Please consult with the SADA Committee Co-Chairs Chair

COOPERATIVE EXTENSION SERVICE (CES) TERMS AND VACANCIES

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate.

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

Cooperative Extension Service Representatives Alternate(s) Mara Bacsujlaky (18) Art Nash (18) **Candi Dierenfield (17)**

Senator term expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2017: Candi Dierenfield

Alternate term expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2017: None

Please elect:

1 senator for 2-year term (2017-2019)

Note regarding the School of Natural Resources and Extension (SNRE):

Faculty Senate bylaws address membership of combined units in years when re-apportionment occurs. Re-apportionment occurs during an accreditation review (every seven years). Currently, CES and the School of Natural Resources each have two elected senators and one alternate. This will continue until a re-apportionment year when the total number of senators and alternates will be recalculated for the unit. Alternatively, a new unit may request re-apportionment early, which may be granted upon a two-thirds vote of the Faculty Senate.

Reference: FS Bylaws, Sect. 1 (Art. III Membership), subsection E

SCHOOL OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND EXTENSION TERMS AND VACANCIES

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate.

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

School of Natural Resources & Agriculture
RepresentativesAlternate(s)Norm Harris (17)Joshua Greenberg (17)Mingchu Zhang (18)Image: Comparison of the second s

Senator term expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2017: Norm Harris (assumed the term vacated by Julie Joly)

Alternate term expiring at last Senate Meeting in May 2016:

Joshua Greenberg

Please elect:

1 senator for 2-year term (2017-2019) 1 alternate for 2-year term (2017-2019)

Note regarding the School of Natural Resources and Extension (SNRE):

Faculty Senate bylaws address membership of combined units in years when re-apportionment occurs. Re-apportionment occurs during an accreditation review (every seven years). Currently, CES and the School of Natural Resources each have two elected senators and one alternate. This will continue until a re-apportionment year when the total number of senators and alternates will be recalculated for the unit. Alternatively, a new unit may request re-apportionment early, which may be granted upon a two-thirds vote of the Faculty Senate.

Reference: FS Bylaws, Sect. 1 (Art. III Membership), subsection E

SCHOOL OF EDUCATION (SOE) TERMS AND VACANCIES

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate.

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

School of Education

Representatives Valerie Gifford (17) Sean Topkok (18) Alternate(s) Carrie Green (17)

Terms expiring at the last Senate meeting in May 2017:

Valerie Gifford Carrie Green

Please elect:

1 senator for 2-year term (2017-2019) 1 alternate for 2-year term (2017-2019)

SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT (SOM) TERMS & VACANCIES

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

School of ManagementRepresentativesAlternate(s)Ken Abramowicz (18)Kim McGinnis (18)Nicole Cundiff (17)Troy Bouffard (18)

Senator term expiring at last Senate meeting in May 2017: Nicole Cundiff

Alternate term expiring at last Senate meeting in May 2017: None

Please elect:

1 senator for 2-year term (2017-2019)

GEOPHYSICAL INSTITUTE (GI)

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

Geophysical InstituteRepresentativesAlternate(s)Jeff Benowitz (18)Andrew Mahoney (18)Don Hampton (17)Constant of the second second

Senator term expiring at last Senate meeting in May 2017:

IARC

Representation: 2 senators and 1 alternate

Current representation with expiring terms bolded:

Int'l Arctic Research CenterRepresentativesAlternateRob Rember (17)Jessie Robertson (18)Bob Bolton (18)Solution (18)

Senator term expiring at last Senate meeting in May 2017: Rob Rember (assumed the term of Jessica Cherry)

Please elect:

1 senator for 2-year term (2017-2019)

Please refer to Election Guidance sheet for determining eligibility to serve / vote.

List of 2015-16 Faculty eligible for FS representation through IARC (for reference and updating for 2017 election):